Queen Esther.

About a week ago, for some reason the topic of “powerful women” was resonating in my mind. Being one of the few books of the Bible named after a woman, I decided to read the book of Esther.

Growing up, I had always heard of Esther, but I never took it upon myself to read the story in depth. I won’t go into detail about the entire book, but you’re more than welcome to read it yourself if you’re interested. The Book is called “Esther” in the Bible. It is right after Nehemiah and contains 10 chapters for those who may not be too familiar with the Bible.

As a side note, these names may be different depending on which version of the Bible you’re reading, so don’t be alarmed if they aren’t exactly the same.

The Book starts out with King Xerxes, who was a ruler from India to Ethiopia. King Xerxes is throwing a party and asks his wife to come to him so he can show off her beauty to the entire kingdom. His wife, Queen Vashti, refuses. This enrages the King and he decides something needs to be done, or else wives everywhere will think they can disobey their husbands. Now at this point, if you’re a feminist or anything of the sort, you may not like this, but you have to remember the times in which this was written. So just calm down 🙂

To continue on, the idea was brought up that a select number of virgin women from all over should be chosen to undergo a “make over” and be brought to King Xerxes. Whoever the King is pleased with the most, replaces Queen Vashti and becomes the new Queen. If you haven’t already put two and two together, Esther is among these women and eventually becomes the one who wins over the King. She was young, beautiful and graceful, but if you didn’t take note before, Esther had to undergo a makeover. She had to do a YEARS worth of beauty treatments before she could even be presented to the King. (Again, feminists calm down) Esther needed a makeover so she could be fit for a Queen.

As I read this, I thought of a post I saw on Facebook that basically said Esther could not just go before the King looking any kind of way. Esther needed a makeover. I began to think deeper into what this was really saying and how we could apply it to our lives today. This is what I came up with…

Ladies, God himself already tells us that we are fearfully and wonderfully made. It is our job to make sure we present ourselves as such. As I thought of this, I began to ask myself “am I fit to be a queen?” We expect men to have it all together and approach us correctly, when some of us ladies aren’t even worth approaching. We act as if men are the only ones who have to bring something to the table. We want a loyal man, but aren’t loyal ourselves. We want a faithful man, but we always make sure we have someone on the side in case this one doesn’t work out. So if you aren’t attracting the men you want, then maybe it’s time for a makeover and this does not exactly mean a physical one. For you, this could be an attitude adjustment, or learning more skills and getting an education. You don’t need a makeover just for him though, you should honestly be doing it for yourself. You should always want to be the best version of yourself in every way. The great thing about this is… as you’re giving yourself a makeover, you’re also giving whoever your “King” is, permission to pursue you.

Once Queen Esther prepared herself and did what she was supposed to do, the King couldn’t resist her. Before Esther was a Queen, she looked like one, talked like one, and conducted herself as such, so it only made sense to make her one. Queen Esther was POPPIN’…. as one would say. lol

In the end, the FIERCE Queen Esther went on to risk her own life just so she could save her people and the King desired to give her everything she wanted.

This book of the Bible reminded me to make sure I was preparing myself to be the Queen that is already in me. Although I am single right now, my King is on his way so until then, I have to make sure I am ready. He has to make sure he’s ready too, but this post is specifically for my ladies. After all, he’s the one that chooses you and he’s the one that decides to make you his wife.

So this bring me to my last two points…

As I read and took notes on all of this, it made me think back to one of my FAVORITE quotes from Grey’s Anatomy. As character Christina Yang is getting ready to leave, she says to Meredith, “He’s very dreamy, but he’s not the sun. You are.” This scene reminds me of a scripture that says, When a man finds a wife, he’s finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord (Proverbs 18:22). In the end, you’re his gift. You’re a true gift from the Lord.

So I guess my last question is,

Are you fit to be a Queen?

-Jordyn Austin

 

One thought on “Queen Esther.

Leave a Reply

