The Power of Forgiveness.

At one point in time, I’m sure we’ve all held a grudge or were very slow to forgive someone, if we forgave them at all.

As Christians, we are told forgive our enemies and those who have done us wrong and be kind to them. However, we know this isn’t the easiest thing to do.

I used to be someone who held a grudge, especially when I was younger. I would tell myself that this person or that person didn’t phase me or I’m not even thinking about them, but whenever their name was brought up, so was my anger. As I progressed in my faith, I knew that I had not totally forgiven others like I should have.

You may constantly wonder why should you be the one to forgive, when this person is the one that hurt you?  And my answer to that comes straight from scripture. Mark 11:25 tells us “And when you stand praying, if you hold anything against anyone, forgive them, so that your Father in heaven may forgive you.” (NIV) This scripture is also written in red so that means that these words were spoken by Jesus himself.

When I read this scripture I am reminded that I have no right to hold grudges and not forgive people, especially when I am constantly asking God to forgive me. Many times God forgives us even when we least deserve it, yet we think it is okay not to forgive other people.

This, however is not the only reason to forgive. Forgiving also lifts a great weight off your shoulders. You’ll notice that when you truly forgive others, you begin to feel a little better. You’re no longer held captive by toxic thoughts.  When I forgive others I notice I’m thinking a little more positive, I sleep better at night and I’m not constantly replaying the situation that hurt me in my head. At the end of the day, when you refuse to forgive someone you’re the only one upset by it. You ever notice how this person you’re upset with seems to be okay and they get to move on with their life as if they never did anything to you? This is what happens when you refuse to forgive. Peace is never possible without forgiveness.

Anything you’re holding onto, let it go and give it to God. Martin Luther King jr. once said, “Forgiveness is not an occasional act; it is a permanent attitude.” Forgiveness is not something we learn overnight, but rather it takes dedication and help from God. Seek Him and ask Him to help you forgive those who have hurt you. It will make a difference and you won’t be disappointed. The power of forgiveness is so real. Make the choice to forgive today.

Be encouraged. 🙂

-Jordyn Austin

One thought on “The Power of Forgiveness.

  1. arneshamarie says:

    I love this one, forgiveness is so important. I know sometimes I want to hold on to situations and they just weigh me down, but when I learned to let go I felt so much better and it became easier to forgive!

    Like

Leave a Reply

