Open Letter: Under Construction

Dear You,

First of all, I’d like to say you’re awesome. If no one has told you that lately, you just heard it from me.

Humans have such a bad habit of making themselves or others feel like they aren’t successful unless they’ve achieved this and that by a certain time. Or people try to tell you that you need to “be a certain way” to make it. We put up fronts like we have it all together or have our lives figured out. We act so sure about our destination and how we’re going to get there. I’ll be honest and say that sho’ ain’t me. I’m a straight hot mess.

Can I be transparent about some things others have commented about me?

Some people wonder if I’m dating and when I say no, they ask why not. They make the point to say I need to “get out there,” because I guess being single and satisfied is a completely foreign concept to them. But I want to get it right next time. So listen Betsy, I want God’s best for myself. Just because you settled, doesn’t mean I have to. (oops)

Here’s another one. I was lead to switch my career path my senior year of college and some people felt the need to express their unwanted opinion about how I “wasted” four years. They aren’t even aware that God HIMSELF is who told me to make the switch. It wasn’t even personally about me more than it was about being obedient. So much blessing has come out of that. I’m being used as a mighty warrior for His kingdom and I honestly couldn’t be happier.

Here’s one last one. ALL MY LIFE I’ve been told I was too sensitive, lacked tenacity and back bone and wouldn’t make it far with my soft heart. This one is the biggest LOL to me because last time I checked, God’s greatest commandment was first to love God with all my heart, soul and mind and then to love my neighbor as myself. (Matthew 22:38) I chuckle thinking about it now, because those people said I had no back bone, but GOD said I was more than a conqueror. (*inserts shrugs*) I’m one of the strongest people I know, honestly…..truly. (Joanne the Scammer voice, lol)

I love a quote by actress Sophia Bush that says, “You’re allowed to be both a masterpiece and a work in progress, simultaneously” and in fact you are. God sees you in a way that no human will ever be able to. In that sense, you’re His work of art. His masterpiece. But sometimes even masterpieces need remodeled. What I mean by this is, He will always be reshaping you and reforming you. Sometimes, that looks like a complete mess, but you have to remember who the construction worker is. He knows exactly the blueprint he has for your life.

I say all this to let you know that you are who God says you are. If you don’t start believing that, you’re just giving people permission to label you.

Run away from people who make it seem like they have it all together. They’re liars. We all have things that need work. You don’t have time to be belittled by someone who fails to see you’re a work of art.

Next time someone tries to make you feel like you’re a mess, simply remind them that you’re under construction and that’s okay.

If they stop worrying about you so much, they’ll realize they are too. So go ahead a refer them to the best construction worker you know, Jesus Christ.

Sincerely Yours,

Jordyn Austin

p.s please listen to “Under Construction,” by KJ Scriven. Link below.

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBaq186XCgQ

 

Leave a Reply

