6 Christian Girl MUST-HAVES

I’ll preface this article by saying these are what have helped me on my personal spiritual walk and if you have a different list, that’s fine! If you don’t, please feel free to duplicate this exact list! This is just a jumping point to help you if you need it.

Bible

This may be obvious, but it’s necessary to mention! God’s word is something any Christian in general should not be without. Go to your local Christian book store, or even Amazon and you will find a ton of options. I have three different versions of bibles including King James Version (KJV), New International Version (NIV) and New Living Translation (NLT). My personal favorite is the NLT. It is very easy to read and understand. I have three different versions for cross referencing purposes. I like to see what each Bible translates, making sure it’s the same message.

It’s good for at least one of your bibles to be a study bible. Study bibles offer side commentary, historical facts and real life application that help you understand the context in which the scripture was written, the purpose and how it applies to you today.

Not only should you have a Bible, but you should be reading it. I know starting to read the Bible can be a little overwhelming. So my suggestion is starting with the Gospels – Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. Each Gospel is a different perspective or account of the life of Jesus. The Gospels helped me to see who Jesus was and what he did during his life as a human on earth. The Gospels include his birth, life, miracles, death and his resurrection. They teach about his love and character. A spiritual mentor of mine once said, “look to the scripture for the instruction and then look to Jesus for the example.” The Gospels are a good starting place for this. For example, the bible says to love your neighbor, so that’s the instruction, and then you can look to Jesus’ actions and life for an example of what loving your neighbor looks like.

Reading the Bible helps you learn about God’s truth, which is so important, especially when the devil tries to attack you and lie to you. You should have some scriptures loaded in your spiritual gun so you can fire back at the enemy and combat his lies.

Journal

Your journal can be used for anything you want, like a prayer journal, gratitude journal or a journal for simply talking to God about whatever. My journal has been my safe place ever since I was a little girl, not just because I’m a writer, but because I found it to be very therapeutic and a healthy way to vent.

It’s good to use a journal to pray to the Lord. It’s always interesting to go back and look at what you’ve been praying for and if the prayer has been answered or if you’ve changed the prayer totally.

Journals also help you to see where you used to be and how God has helped you grow. I am always in shock when I look at my old journal entries versus my current ones. It’s almost like I am a totally new person. I write down every thought, feeling and lesson God has been teaching me and it helps me see that all the prayers and hours studying the word are actually working.

Even if you aren’t a writer, a journal can be a key tool for your Christian journey.

Worship Playlist

This is a big one because music is one of the ways we can intimately connect with and worship God. You ever just hear a worship song that just touches your spirit or brings you to tears? There’s no feeling like it. Since I have an iPhone, I am subscribed to Apple Music and I literally have a playlist called  “Worship.” You don’t have to purchase anything like me to have a playlist though. YouTube is a great tool for listening to anything. So as you hear songs that you love and can worship to, write them down and create your own playlist.

We live in a world that is constantly moving and never stops talking, so you can use your worship playlist to wind down and clear your mind of distractions before you come to the Lord in prayer. Usually before I spend intimate time with the Lord, I play my worship playlist to set the atmosphere and clear my thoughts of anything other than God.

Sing these songs out loud with passion, even if you can’t sing. Repeat these songs throughout the day and just allow them to resonate in your spirit and you should see a difference in your overall attitude.

Community of Women

Some people think this is not important, but it really is. Having a community of Christian women in your corner can really help you through some hard times. It doesn’t have to be a lot of people, but at least 2 or 3 you can count on to walk your journey with you. Believe it or not, you’re not the only one that has been through something before. Be able to listen to wise counsel of the women who have “been there and done that.” Get a few people you can trust and let them know what’s going on. Get you some people in your corner that know how to get a prayer through. We were never meant to walk this journey alone. You’ll be so surprised how many women can relate to what you’re going through an offer solid, biblical advice.

I’ll be completely honest and say not everyone can be that community for you, because the simple fact is not everyone has your best interest in mind. Some people just like to listen to you so they can run and tell your business. So be prayerful and ask the Lord to bring the right people to you. Join Christian clubs and organizations, attend small group bible studies, find a good church and be in constant community with other Christians so you guys can lift each other up.

Woman Devotional

Devotionals help us apply the bible to our own lives. Most devotionals have a lesson plan for a certain amount of time that is based off of scripture. The devotional for that day may include a prayer, scriptures to read, questions to think about and ways to apply it to your personal life. A woman’s devotional will have all these things but it will be tailored to your life as a Godly woman.

James 1:11 says “But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.” It’s not enough to just hear God’s word, but you must apply it to your life and put it into action. Devotionals help you do that.

Godly books

This is one of my favorites, because I LOVE to read. My current read is “The Wait” by DeVon Franklin and his wife Meagan Good. It is SO GOOD and giving such a fresh perspective on what it means to wait. I read books based on Christian values that touch on what I want to learn about. Right now, I am very invested in not only growing myself in Christ, but being intentional and guarding my heart when it comes to my love life. So I’ve been reading books about becoming a Godly woman and eventually a Godly wife. Too often we focus on finding the right one instead of BEING the right one, and I eventually want to be a blessing to my future husband. I want to be the woman God has called me to be. So books help me learn about the experiences of other people and apply them appropriately to my life. It really helps me grow.

Godly books also give me an alternative to the trash this world is constantly feeding us. It’s hard to find a decent television show or movie these days. Since I am so serious about my spiritual walk, I try my best to only feed myself the things of God.  Godly books help me to do that. Here are a few books I have read, that you may want to read yourself:

 

I know how difficult being a Christian woman can be! So I hope this helped you. I am here for you all!!! Comment some of your “must-haves” as a Christian girl.

giphy2

Much love,

Jordyn Austin

Leave a Reply

